rtl270, vcl260, vclx260, .BPL files

Ask how to do things or if a certain feature is available in the program.
Post Reply
User avatar
HSeldon
Posts: 32
Joined: 03 Aug 2020 21:26

rtl270, vcl260, vclx260, .BPL files

Post by HSeldon »

I am having issues with RJTE version 15, portable. The first time I ran it, it complained that rtl270.bpl was not found.
I located rtl270.bpl in previous version and copied it. I am updated to version 15.03.
Now, when I try to open SyntaxEditor, it complains that files vcl260.bpl and vclx260.bpl were not found.
I am running latest Windows 10. These files are not found anywhere on my computer.
Any help is greatly appreciated.
Wenn ist das Nunstück git und Slotermeyer? Ja! Beiherhund das Oder die Flipperwaldt gersput.

User avatar
pjj
Posts: 1914
Joined: 13 Oct 2009 13:48
Location: Kraków, Poland

Re: rtl270, vcl260, vclx260, .BPL files

Post by pjj »

I don't have these files either and Syntax Editor opens without any complaining (but I don't use portable version). Did you try opening it directly from Windows Explorer/file manager, and not from within RJ TE?
Alium tibi quaere fratrem; hic, quem tuum putas, meus est. Titus Flāvius Caesar Vespasiānus Augustus

User avatar
pjj
Posts: 1914
Joined: 13 Oct 2009 13:48
Location: Kraków, Poland

Re: rtl270, vcl260, vclx260, .BPL files

Post by pjj »

OK, so I have downloaded and installed the latest portable version (15.03) on Win7, x64 and run "Run - TextEd (Win64).bat". No missing files complaints, Syntax Editor starts just fine. BPL files in question still not on the disk. Perhaps you could try re-installing the newest version and see if it helps?

BTW, both portable downloads were stopped and marked by Firefox (Nightly) as potential security risk since addresses in links are http and not https :!: Rickard, could you fix it, please?
Alium tibi quaere fratrem; hic, quem tuum putas, meus est. Titus Flāvius Caesar Vespasiānus Augustus

User avatar
HSeldon
Posts: 32
Joined: 03 Aug 2020 21:26

Re: rtl270, vcl260, vclx260, .BPL files

Post by HSeldon »

Alas, I suspected as much. Thanks for the reply, though.
I was hoping someone might have an idea what the problem might be.

I also downloaded a fresh portable version and ran it right out of the box and got the same messages when running SyntaxEditor.
Oh well, I'll just have to edit the syntax files manualy for now.

Thanks again.
Wenn ist das Nunstück git und Slotermeyer? Ja! Beiherhund das Oder die Flipperwaldt gersput.

User avatar
HSeldon
Posts: 32
Joined: 03 Aug 2020 21:26

Re: rtl270, vcl260, vclx260, .BPL files

Post by HSeldon »

I should have included this in the original posting. The actual message reads:

The code execution cannot proceed because vcl260.bpl was not
found. Reinstalling the program may fix this problem.

The same message appears for vclx.bpl
Wenn ist das Nunstück git und Slotermeyer? Ja! Beiherhund das Oder die Flipperwaldt gersput.

User avatar
pjj
Posts: 1914
Joined: 13 Oct 2009 13:48
Location: Kraków, Poland

Re: rtl270, vcl260, vclx260, .BPL files

Post by pjj »

HSeldon wrote:
17 Aug 2021 01:29
I was hoping someone might have an idea what the problem might be.
This someone is Rickard ;) You may want to check and post him a log file as per viewtopic.php?t=5071&p=17858

From top of my head: perhaps running registry cleaner would help? Since clearly those files are not necessary to run RJ TE and SE, it means that's there something in your environment that is calling for them.
Alium tibi quaere fratrem; hic, quem tuum putas, meus est. Titus Flāvius Caesar Vespasiānus Augustus

User avatar
HSeldon
Posts: 32
Joined: 03 Aug 2020 21:26

Re: rtl270, vcl260, vclx260, .BPL files

Post by HSeldon »

Thanks pjj. I enabled debug output, but it only shows the following related to SyntaxEditor:

ActionListExecute() - OpenSyntaxEditorAction
Deactivate() - Main window has lost focus!
Activate() - Main window has focus!
Deactivate() - Main window has lost focus!
Activate() - Main window has focus!
ActionListExecute() - ExitAction

The files in question are not located anywhere in the registery.

This is a new laptop with all windows updates. However, the behavior is the same on my old laptop with earlier version of Window 10,
and only with version 15. Version 14.7 does not have this issue.
Thanks again for looking at this.
Wenn ist das Nunstück git und Slotermeyer? Ja! Beiherhund das Oder die Flipperwaldt gersput.

User avatar
Rickard Johansson
Site Admin
Posts: 6158
Joined: 19 Jul 2006 14:29

Re: rtl270, vcl260, vclx260, .BPL files

Post by Rickard Johansson »

Are you using the portable version available at FossHub or the Windows XP version?

On Windows 7/10/11 you should install v15.0 from Fosshub first, and then update to v15.03 using the built in update feature.

User avatar
HSeldon
Posts: 32
Joined: 03 Aug 2020 21:26

RESOLVED: Re: rtl270, vcl260, vclx260, .BPL files

Post by HSeldon »

Thank you Rickard!
I'm sure I downloaded from FossHub. I always follow the link from the homepage or from this forum for downloads.
However, when I compared my original download with a fresh one, I found a difference in date and size.
The original download was 42.57 MB on 7/16 at 11:47:33. The new download is 49.6 MB on 7/16 at 11:51:34.

When I stated That I had tried a fresh download out of the box. I must have installed the version I originally downloaded again.
In any case, the issue is resolved. Thanks again for your help.
Wenn ist das Nunstück git und Slotermeyer? Ja! Beiherhund das Oder die Flipperwaldt gersput.

Post Reply