Javascript Autocomplete Query

Ask how to do things or if a certain feature is available in the program.
danielks11

Javascript Autocomplete Query

Post by danielks11 »

Hello

I am new to RJ TextEd.

I am currently learning javascript and I noted that when I type js code, the only autocomplete/intellisense that appears are for keywords already entered in the document and not the general autocomplete for keywords/objects etc.

For example: if I start a new .js file or enter js code between <script> tags embedded in a html file, when I first start typing no autocomplete pops up. But as soon as I type first lets say "document.getElementById", then the next time I start to type "document", then the "getElementById" appears. Let's say I then enter "document.write", then the next time I type "document" then ".getElementById" and ".write" pops up.

I am assuming that this default behavior that I can override by changing a setting in Options. I have went through the settings and checked all the autocomplete options I found but it seems to only affect html and css code. What I would like is when I type the "document" object for javascript, all of the "document." elements/properties appear in a list like how the css and html autocomplete works. And not only for "document" but for "window" and other javascript objects/keywords as well.

Which setting can I change so that I can get the autocomplete to work similar to the html and css autocomplete works like an intellisense feature?

In the likelihood that there is no setting, is there an add-on/plugin/extension that I can install to add full javascript autocomplete/intellisense features?

Also, if no such add-on exists, I have noted that there are js.ini and js.syx files that I am assuming controls the autocomplete features, could someone provide the instructions on what changes would need to be made and to which files in order to activate the full autocomplete/intellisense features for javascript?