Bug or corruption or something

Discuss syntax highlighting or submit new syntax files.
Post Reply
User avatar
rjbill
Posts: 830
Joined: 13 Jun 2011 06:36

Bug or corruption or something

Post by rjbill »

I don't know what's going on with my attempts at creating a syntax highlighter
for QB64 (Quick BASIC).

First it was causing RJTE to crash. And I never could understand what you wanted
or needed me to do about that. (none of the attempts ever worked trying to get
the special crash debug program to work)

So I abandoned it.

I just turned the highlighter on again with ver. 7.53 beta 4 and it hasn't crashed... yet.

But now, when I go into Options to edit the highlighting colors, there are none.
They all show as White on Black. And the example text is not highlighted.

YET, the colors are showing in the edit window as if there is a color specification.
(I think it's the one I made, but I'm not sure)

So something is messed up, or something.

What file are the colors stored in?

There is a QB64.syx and QB64.ini file.
But no QB64.ssx file like the other highlighters.
If that's where the colors are stored, then why is it showing highlighting?
RJTE version 14.64 (actual) - 64-bit
Win 10 Pro 64-bit 8 GB RAM Intel Core i7-6700 3.40 GHz SCSI Hard Drive 1 TB

Note: The signature is dynamic, not static,
so it may not show the correct version above
that was in use at the time of the post.

jgodfrey
Posts: 471
Joined: 19 Aug 2011 23:02
Location: Missouri, USA

Re: Bug or corruption or something

Post by jgodfrey »

I know this isn't directed to me, but I'm confused by the description of what you're seeing in the Highlighters pane of the Options dialog. Could you maybe provide a screenshot of the dialog showing the issues?

Are you sure you assigned appropriate file extensions to your highlighter when you activated it? And, yes, the highlighter color assignments are in the .SSX file.

Jeff

User avatar
rjbill
Posts: 830
Joined: 13 Jun 2011 06:36

Re: Bug or corruption or something

Post by rjbill »

I assigned colors and it seems to be working now.
I've been using it for awhile and no crashes or abnormalities.

However, there is still no .SSX file.

There are these two files:

C:\Users\Ralph\AppData\Roaming\RJ TextEd\Syntax\QB64.ini
C:\Users\Ralph\AppData\Roaming\RJ TextEd\Syntax\QB64.syx

All of the other highlighters in there have three files, including a .SSX file.

But it is working. So it must be storing the file somewhere else.
Maybe something changed in the new version?
Is it putting it in some other 'local' directory?
This is in Windows 7 Home Ed. 64-bit.

AND, now that it seems to be working, how do I "publish" it so others can use it?
RJTE version 14.64 (actual) - 64-bit
Win 10 Pro 64-bit 8 GB RAM Intel Core i7-6700 3.40 GHz SCSI Hard Drive 1 TB

Note: The signature is dynamic, not static,
so it may not show the correct version above
that was in use at the time of the post.

User avatar
Rickard Johansson
Site Admin
Posts: 5988
Joined: 19 Jul 2006 14:29

Re: Bug or corruption or something

Post by Rickard Johansson »

You can create the .ssx file in options -> Highlighters section by using the "Export" function. It will save your current color settings into a file with the .ssx extension.

The only way to publish the syntax file is by sending them to me. I'll upload the files to the server and others can download it from the add-ons dialog. I will probably add the syntax files to the installation as well.

I also need some information to put in the _ver.ini file found in the syntax folder.

E.g.

[PHP]
Author=Rickard Johansson and Stewart Souter
VersionString=2011-10-25
Version=1008

Post Reply