Cursor blocking; large sections invisible

Report issues, odd behaviors or submit a detailed bug report.
inspector71
Posts: 219
Joined: 22 Sep 2017 07:59

Cursor blocking; large sections invisible

Post by inspector71 »

Hi

Thanks for all the hard work.

Unfortunately, I updated to the latest stable version 15.54 (64-bit) a few weeks ago and since there has been some strange behaviour that is definitely a regression in my view.

Sometimes, for no reason I can obviously determine, the cursor just stops moving up and down lines.

Secondly, seemingly when folding, the section of code that was folded leaves a blank section that cannot be navigated without it flickering and disappearing, such as when scrolling with the mouse wheel. Sometimes, the text seems to get all scrambled as well. Very messy and causes anxiety that code will be butchered or lost, as sometimes happens with RJTE in one or two contexts I have to ignore.

Any thoughts on what this might be?

Same environment as I've posted from for some time.

Code: Select all

Windows 18362.19h1_release.190318-1202

User avatar
Rickard Johansson
Site Admin
Posts: 6281
Joined: 19 Jul 2006 14:29

Re: Cursor blocking; large sections invisible

Post by Rickard Johansson »

Since I've never seen that myself and no one else have reported those issues - I can only assume it either has something to do with your settings, or your system (antivirus, misc tools...).

Would you mind mailing your settings file (AppData\Roaming\RJ TextEd\TextEd.ini)?

inspector71
Posts: 219
Joined: 22 Sep 2017 07:59

Re: Cursor blocking; large sections invisible

Post by inspector71 »

Yep, I'm uniquely fecked up alright. Got it in one!

FWIW I did notice the cursor stopping issue seems to be just below a folded section.

Happy to send in file. I'll just check it for any privacy issues first.

Thanks for all your great work. I remain delighted that the FTP functionality seems to remain solid since I upgraded.

inspector71
Posts: 219
Joined: 22 Sep 2017 07:59

Re: Cursor blocking; large sections invisible

Post by inspector71 »

Hi Rickard

Any luck diagnosing this?

I cannot stand it any longer I'm afraid. However I cannot be sure which version to downgrade to. Any thoughts on that?

UPDATE: I just managed to capture a video of at least one example of what's happening. How best to get it to you as it's a 15.6MB file. No chance am I uploading to a public video site.

User avatar
Rickard Johansson
Site Admin
Posts: 6281
Joined: 19 Jul 2006 14:29

Re: Cursor blocking; large sections invisible

Post by Rickard Johansson »

Maybe you could upload it to OneDrive and email a link to it?

User avatar
pjj
Posts: 1998
Joined: 13 Oct 2009 13:48
Location: Kraków, Poland

Re: Cursor blocking; large sections invisible

Post by pjj »

Highly recommend https://www.sendspace.com/ no nonsense, no need to register, files up to 300 MB.
Alium tibi quaere fratrem; hic, quem tuum putas, meus est. Titus Flāvius Caesar Vespasiānus Augustus

inspector71
Posts: 219
Joined: 22 Sep 2017 07:59

Re: Cursor blocking; large sections invisible

Post by inspector71 »

pjj wrote:
12 Aug 2022 14:24
Highly recommend https://www.sendspace.com/ no nonsense, no need to register, files up to 300 MB.
Brilliant. Thanks pjj!

https://www.sendspace.com/file/2npydp

Let me know if I need to explain it.

User avatar
pjj
Posts: 1998
Joined: 13 Oct 2009 13:48
Location: Kraków, Poland

Re: Cursor blocking; large sections invisible

Post by pjj »

You are very welcome! :)

For the record: this one https://www.swisstransfer.com/en-us looks very well, too, though I have never used it.
Alium tibi quaere fratrem; hic, quem tuum putas, meus est. Titus Flāvius Caesar Vespasiānus Augustus

User avatar
Rickard Johansson
Site Admin
Posts: 6281
Joined: 19 Jul 2006 14:29

Re: Cursor blocking; large sections invisible

Post by Rickard Johansson »

Thanks! Now I just have to figure out how to replicate it myself :?

inspector71
Posts: 219
Joined: 22 Sep 2017 07:59

Re: Cursor blocking; large sections invisible

Post by inspector71 »

Rickard Johansson wrote:
13 Aug 2022 10:21
Thanks! Now I just have to figure out how to replicate it myself :?
Best of luck.

If it's generally some sort of 'paint' or 'draw' (hoping those are meaningful terms in this context) thing, this might be related.

https://i.imgur.com/rRyIzhG.png

https://i.imgur.com/cDxOD8C.png

Yep, it's one of those charming bugs that even screws up unrelated apps.

I really would like to temporarily, I hope, downgrade. Could you please advise which version might be free from these visual bugs I'm seeing? If this is the first you're hearing of these bugs, would it be as simple as downgrading to the last significant point release?

I understand this question is not necessarily easy to answer until you know what is causing the bug. However, I'm starting to get issues with the lack of a real-time session manager to recover from crashes, which I'm getting here and there. Along with this graphical (?) issue. It's getting a bit much. I actually lost code. A few hours effort, the other day. Having to restart RJTE, or the way RJTE has no (working, for me) code folding state remembered after a restart, is getting rather frustrating, to be honest. I'm trying to remain reasonable and balanced as I know the app overall is probably still my best bet. I haven't looked elsewhere for a temporary alternative but I suspect when I do, it will be such an overhaul effort to re-establish the environment I need to get going. Not the least of which would be conning myself into 'trusting' someone's random third-party JS extensions for basic functionality, as in Atom, are likely to be reliable!

inspector71
Posts: 219
Joined: 22 Sep 2017 07:59

Re: Cursor blocking; large sections invisible

Post by inspector71 »

Rickard Johansson wrote:
13 Aug 2022 10:21
Thanks! Now I just have to figure out how to replicate it myself :?
Clear example of the folding / cursor blocking I am painfully experiencing.

https://www.sendspace.com/file/hvjud8

In this instance, I opened the remote file; probably hit Ctrl + End; used the up arrow key to move the cursor into a spot just below the first "sub ..." line of each sub, then hit Ctrl + Up which I have mapped to FoldNearestNodeAction; when finished folding the subs I want folded, I use the down arrow key to try and move the cursor down to the sub I want to work on. Whereupon the ideal is I Ctrl + Down to unfold as that is mapped to UnfoldNearestNodeAction.

If the sub I want to unfold and work on is too far down, the cursor is blocked from moving down any further. It can go up and left but not down.

FWIW, I almost never use the double-click to unfold GUI elements. I like that they are there if I want to use them, but for the purposes of this bug, they are not a factor in terms of me using them.

inspector71
Posts: 219
Joined: 22 Sep 2017 07:59

Re: Cursor blocking; large sections invisible

Post by inspector71 »

This might be relevant: Another instance of some sort of hover thing (that only shows up when code is folded?) sticking.

https://i.imgur.com/aQDTbY5.png

Switch files / tabs, it's still there.

Restarting, requiring yet more re-folding is the only fix.

User avatar
Rickard Johansson
Site Admin
Posts: 6281
Joined: 19 Jul 2006 14:29

Re: Cursor blocking; large sections invisible

Post by Rickard Johansson »

I made some changes to the paint and move cursor down functions in v15.60. Maybe it will help?

inspector71
Posts: 219
Joined: 22 Sep 2017 07:59

Re: Cursor blocking; large sections invisible

Post by inspector71 »

Rickard Johansson wrote:
14 Aug 2022 11:15
I made some changes to the paint and move cursor down functions in v15.60. Maybe it will help?
Thanks for the update Rickard.

Is there a change log for changes from 15.54 onwards?

I want to be very careful I'm not going from X difficulties to Y difficulties :)

User avatar
Rickard Johansson
Site Admin
Posts: 6281
Joined: 19 Jul 2006 14:29

Re: Cursor blocking; large sections invisible

Post by Rickard Johansson »

Please try out the beta version and let me know if the issues have been fixed.
https://www.rj-texted.se/Forum/viewtopi ... =10&t=5225

You can always go back to v15.54 if you want.

Post Reply