Version 13.90 beta 3

Test beta versions and make bug reports.
I will release major beta builds only. Bugs fixed will be rolled up into the next major beta build or the finished version.
User avatar
Rickard Johansson
Site Admin
Posts: 5802
Joined: 19 Jul 2006 14:29

Version 13.90 beta 3

Post by Rickard Johansson » 09 May 2019 15:16

New in version 13.90 beta 3
Fixed some issues with abbreviations in CSS files and made some improvements.

Vendor prefix in abbreviations
In e.g. CSS you can start an abbreviation with a vendor prefix.

Code: Select all

    E.g. 
        -moz-ac     expands to -moz-align-content: ;
        -webkit-ac  expands to -webkit-align-content: ;
        ac          expands to align-content: ;

There are 3 special abbreviation prefixes you can use to expand into different
properties with different vendor prefixes. -v-, -w- and -m-.

E.g.
-v-ac
-webkit-align-content: |;
-moz-align-content: |;
align-content: |;

-w-ac
-webkit-align-content: |;
align-content: |;

-m-ac
-moz-align-content: |;
align-content: |;

Note that | is a multi cursor position so you can edit all lines at the same
time.

New in version 13.90 beta 2
I've fixed "Wrap with abbreviation" and added wrap with abbreviation to the abbreviation auto completion list function.

Selected text with abbreviation auto completion list
If text is selected - the abbreviation will wrap the selected text. This can work really well with favorites, if you create abbreviations designed for wrapping text.
Emmet05.png
Emmet05.png (8.36 KiB) Viewed 1117 times
Emmet06.png
Emmet06.png (1.87 KiB) Viewed 1117 times
Note that it's enough to hit ENTER to wrap selection with abbreviation. No need to hit SHIFT+ENTER.

New in version 13.90 beta 1:

I've written my own version of Emmet in Delphi (object pascal) code. It's not based on the Emmet plugin code at all, so there are some minor differences and probably some things not implemented (yet).
The Delphi version is compiled to native machine code which makes it much much faster. And it enables me to add some new functionality.

Abbreviation auto completion list
Press ALT+ENTER to display all available abbreviations from the text clips panel, Emmet snippets and Emmet abbreviations in a list.
Emmet01.png
Emmet01.png (11.83 KiB) Viewed 1117 times
Press ENTER to select an abbreviation. It's inserted as is and not expanded. This allows you to combine abbreviations and snippets to create your own abbreviation.
To expand the abbreviation - press SHIFT+ENTER.

Abbreviation hint
Press SHIFT+CTRL+ENTER to show a hint displaying what the expanded code will look like.
Emmet02.png
Emmet02.png (7.11 KiB) Viewed 1117 times
To expand the abbreviation you can just press ENTER (as long as the hint is visible). You can also use SHIFT+ENTER to expand the abbreviation.

Expand abbreviation at cursor
This function will now expand both user defined abbreviations in the text clip panel and Emmet abbreviations.
Type an abbreviation in your document. E.g. "ul>li*5" in an HTML document or "for" in a PHP document. Press SHIFT+ENTER to expand the abbreviation.
If you set a key as a trigger - you can use that as well to expand the abbreviation. E.g. the TAB key.

Note that you can use SHIFT+CTRL+ENTER to preview the abbreviation before expanding it.

Expand abbreviation using input box
Added a hint that is displayed as you type the abbreviation, so you can preview the result.
Open as normal with CTRL+, and enter your abbreviation inside. A hint pops up showing the expanded code.
Emmet03.png
Emmet03.png (5.98 KiB) Viewed 1117 times
The hint is displayed when you wrap with abbreviations (SHIFT+CTRL+,) as well.

Tab points
Move the text cursor to the next tab position using the TAB key.

A tab point can look something like this: {#1} or {#2: Document}.

If the tab point contain text e.g. {#2: Document} contain the text "Document", it will be selected when moving to the tab position.

Abbreviation favorites
Favorites are display at the top of the abbreviation auto complete list (ALT+ENTER).
Manage favorites in the abbreviation input box (CTRL+,).
Emmet04.png
Emmet04.png (7.93 KiB) Viewed 1117 times
Find and Replace options
Added two new options to skip strings or comments when finding a match.
The options only affect documents that are already open. They are not available when searching e.g. a folder.

Fixed
* Move line up/down in a detached editor window.
* Decimal issue in convert panel.
* Issue in regular expression creator.
* Spell check issue.
* Misc issues found while coding or reported by users.

Download
http://www.rj-texted.com/files/beta/rj-install_x86.exe
http://www.rj-texted.com/files/beta/rj-install_x64.exe
http://www.rj-texted.com/files/beta/rj-portable.exe
Attachments
Emmet06.png
Emmet06.png (1.87 KiB) Viewed 1118 times
Emmet05.png
Emmet05.png (8.36 KiB) Viewed 1118 times
Emmet04.png
Emmet04.png (7.93 KiB) Viewed 1118 times
Emmet03.png
Emmet03.png (5.98 KiB) Viewed 1118 times
Emmet02.png
Emmet02.png (7.11 KiB) Viewed 1118 times

User avatar
rjbill
Posts: 816
Joined: 13 Jun 2011 06:36

Re: Version 13.90 beta 3

Post by rjbill » 12 May 2019 16:25

The editor is now taking an "inordinate" amount of time to start up again.

Is there any way to not load up stuff that I don't use so it loads faster?

Usually, after a Beta or actual upgrade, it loads slowly, until I reboot, and
sometimes that fixes it, but sometimes it does not.

When I did that this time, it loaded fairly quickly the first time,
but now loads very slowly again.
RJTE version 14.03 (actual) - 64-bit
Win 10 Pro 64-bit 8 GB RAM Intel Core i7-6700 3.40 GHz SCSI Hard Drive 1 TB

Note: The signature is dynamic, not static,
so it may not show the correct version above
that was in use at the time of the post.

User avatar
Rickard Johansson
Site Admin
Posts: 5802
Joined: 19 Jul 2006 14:29

Re: Version 13.90 beta 3

Post by Rickard Johansson » 12 May 2019 18:52

I very seldom change anything that is executed at startup. And I haven't done so in this version either. To me it sound more like an antivirus issue. A new version may trigger some behavior blocker, or something ...

It could also be the Chrome preview libraries. You can disable Chrome preview in options if you don't use it.

User avatar
rjbill
Posts: 816
Joined: 13 Jun 2011 06:36

Re: Version 13.90 beta 3

Post by rjbill » 13 May 2019 06:31

I don't see how an antivirus could affect a program's startup.

It shuts down slowly, too. (about 10 seconds; and 5 seconds to show the startup screen; 26 seconds for full editor load)

Disabling Chrome preview didn't do anything.

Are you saying that it starts up (and closes) quickly for you?
(hard to do a comparison because of different computers and operating systems)

I don't (really) have a problem with any of my other software.

Libre Office starts up in 8 seconds.
Adobe Photoshop Elements in 12.
FileZilla in 2.
Thunderbird e-mail in 4.
IrfanView in 1
Firefox browser in less than 3.
Opera browser in 10.
Google chrome browser less than 10.
Pale Moon browser in ~12.
etc....
RJTE version 14.03 (actual) - 64-bit
Win 10 Pro 64-bit 8 GB RAM Intel Core i7-6700 3.40 GHz SCSI Hard Drive 1 TB

Note: The signature is dynamic, not static,
so it may not show the correct version above
that was in use at the time of the post.

User avatar
yereverluvinuncleber
Posts: 244
Joined: 20 Apr 2018 09:49

Re: Version 13.90 beta 3

Post by yereverluvinuncleber » 13 May 2019 10:30

Try disabling it or adding an exclusion before you say you don't understand why...
eg. Malwarebytes intercepts the opening of any executable and tests it to see if the payload has changed or contains any different behaviour and how it operates will depend upon which a/v tools you have installed. Just try first and then report the difference, if any.

FYI - My puny core2duo 2.5ghz laptop opens up a RJ project of five .js files within 4-5 secs. It is faster on any of the more powerful quad cores it has been tested upon so it seems unlikely it is RJTextEd causing the delay if your machine is more powerful than the one I am testing on. Try RJ's recommendations then install it on a differently configured machine.

PS. All my common apps initialise within the same measured times as your own so there is something else/something unusual going on.
Noli pati a scelestis opprimi...

You can find me on Deviantart https://www.deviantart.com/yereverluvinuncleber/gallery/

User avatar
vha
Posts: 1013
Joined: 27 Jun 2007 21:34
Location: Belgium

Re: Version 13.90 beta 3

Post by vha » 13 May 2019 11:41

Do you have a network drive mapped?

If so, unmap it and retry


vha

User avatar
Rickard Johansson
Site Admin
Posts: 5802
Joined: 19 Jul 2006 14:29

Re: Version 13.90 beta 3

Post by Rickard Johansson » 13 May 2019 17:32

Things you could try:
  • Make an exception in your antivirus, or try to disable it for 10 min and see if it helps.
  • Move <AppData>\Roaming\RJ TextEd\TextEd.ini and TextEd.ini.bak to another folder. Start the editor with default settings.
  • Hide explorer panels.
  • Don't open files at startup.
The editor starts in about 3 seconds and closes instantly on my machine.

User avatar
rjbill
Posts: 816
Joined: 13 Jun 2011 06:36

Re: Version 13.90 beta 3

Post by rjbill » 14 May 2019 03:43

Messing with antivirus is a MAJOR pain. I have never had to do that.

I don't use Explorer.

I have 50 file tabs open.
Does that make it slower?
RJTE version 14.03 (actual) - 64-bit
Win 10 Pro 64-bit 8 GB RAM Intel Core i7-6700 3.40 GHz SCSI Hard Drive 1 TB

Note: The signature is dynamic, not static,
so it may not show the correct version above
that was in use at the time of the post.

User avatar
yereverluvinuncleber
Posts: 244
Joined: 20 Apr 2018 09:49

Re: Version 13.90 beta 3

Post by yereverluvinuncleber » 14 May 2019 09:04

I code, I create binaries all the time, I have to modify the a/v tool I am using to exclude certain folders to stop it flagging false positives or inspecting folders I do not want it to inspect. I have three a/v tools I might need to handle. That is normal and not a major pain. You do it once, then you leave it alone. You learn how. Straightforward.

It is not as if it is a task you need to do every week, like shovelling coal from the shed to the house. It is one-off task that helps you diagnose the problem, you do it once, you find out if it helps. If it does not help you move on to the next method of diagnosis.
Noli pati a scelestis opprimi...

You can find me on Deviantart https://www.deviantart.com/yereverluvinuncleber/gallery/

User avatar
Rickard Johansson
Site Admin
Posts: 5802
Joined: 19 Jul 2006 14:29

Re: Version 13.90 beta 3

Post by Rickard Johansson » 14 May 2019 15:22

I have 50 file tabs open.
Does that make it slower?
Definitely :) You could try to use sessions instead and disable options that reload files at startup. That way the program will start much faster. And it's possible opening a session is faster than opening files at program startup. Your CPU may not like doing several things at once 8)

User avatar
rjbill
Posts: 816
Joined: 13 Jun 2011 06:36

Re: Version 13.90 beta 3

Post by rjbill » 15 May 2019 21:59

I saved all of my open files into an "archive" session and closed all of the files.
(I've never used sessions before)

Then I closed the editor and restarted it and it opens "immediately".

Isn't there any way you can fix that?

I know 50 files is a lot, but it must be proportional, so even 20 files, which
isn't really all that much, would most likely also be a longer start up time.

Like in the Pale Moon (& Firefox) web browsers, it only opens a TAB web page
when you click on that tab.


Something like that in RJTextEd would be nice. (if only an option -- immediate / delayed tab file open)
RJTE version 14.03 (actual) - 64-bit
Win 10 Pro 64-bit 8 GB RAM Intel Core i7-6700 3.40 GHz SCSI Hard Drive 1 TB

Note: The signature is dynamic, not static,
so it may not show the correct version above
that was in use at the time of the post.

User avatar
yereverluvinuncleber
Posts: 244
Joined: 20 Apr 2018 09:49

Re: Version 13.90 beta 3

Post by yereverluvinuncleber » 16 May 2019 09:48

FYI - When I open a RJTe project file and I have typically ten (max) files open, it appears to make no difference to the speed of opening the editor. Regardless of the project I open (10-15 files) it opens in less than 5 secs. In my projects, none of the scripts I am opening is more than 1,000 lines long. I have no project of 50 files to test, can you try it with just 15 to compare?

If I open RJTe alone without any files opening automatically, it happens slightly quicker but not much.

Can you tell us the speed of your hardware? In particular the drive speed where RJ and the files themselves reside. My core2laptop, 2.5ghz has an SSD on SATA 2 and the drive access is obviously going to be quite quick even though the hardware is old.
Noli pati a scelestis opprimi...

You can find me on Deviantart https://www.deviantart.com/yereverluvinuncleber/gallery/

User avatar
Rickard Johansson
Site Admin
Posts: 5802
Joined: 19 Jul 2006 14:29

Re: Version 13.90 beta 3

Post by Rickard Johansson » 16 May 2019 14:00

Like in the Pale Moon (& Firefox) web browsers, it only opens a TAB web page
when you click on that tab.

Something like that in RJTextEd would be nice. (if only an option -- immediate / delayed tab file open)
I'll consider an option.

BTW. Using a project almost does the same thing. You can load a project at startup. You can add all 50 files to the project and use the project panel to open files, whenever you need to edit them. And maybe close them when you're done.

User avatar
rjbill
Posts: 816
Joined: 13 Jun 2011 06:36

Re: Version 13.90 beta 3

Post by rjbill » 16 May 2019 17:45

I modified my signature to tell more info about my system.
I don't know if I have a SATA or SATA 2 drive, or the speed of my drive.
But it is probably "standard". (Dell Inspiron desktop or something like that, about 2 years old)
I'm not a 'hardware person'.

Other than the issue noted, RJTE works very fast and well.

It just has a problem opening up 50 files on startup.

I don't use sessions or projects, but I may look into them.

Thanks.
RJTE version 14.03 (actual) - 64-bit
Win 10 Pro 64-bit 8 GB RAM Intel Core i7-6700 3.40 GHz SCSI Hard Drive 1 TB

Note: The signature is dynamic, not static,
so it may not show the correct version above
that was in use at the time of the post.

User avatar
yereverluvinuncleber
Posts: 244
Joined: 20 Apr 2018 09:49

Re: Version 13.90 beta 3

Post by yereverluvinuncleber » 17 May 2019 00:45

It'll be a SATA III (3) hard drive based upon how recent was the purchase (if it was new) and I'm guessing not a SCSI one as your sig. might suggest. Modern SATA III drives are fast, older SCSI drives are comparatively slow.

Install and run HWINFO64 and it will tell you all about your system. Click on DRIVES and select each of the drives that are shown. Media rotation rate is an important characteristic as is the type. IF it is a SSD or a hybrid drive then it will be really fast to open files, if it is a 7200rpm hard disc drive then it should also be fast enough. If it is a 5400rpm then it could have an adverse effect on opening 50 or so files slowly.

A SCSI drive is a fairly old style of drive and I would expect that could be an issue if it was true but I wouldn't expect a SCSI drive on a newish home system. A core i7 6700 is a newish CPU and so your system should be fast across the board and it ought to be equipped with quick SATA drives unless someone has configured it strangely for some arcane purpose. SCSI can be made to perform with very fast spindles but these are normally business machines for a specific purpose. Check those drives and find out what they really are!
Noli pati a scelestis opprimi...

You can find me on Deviantart https://www.deviantart.com/yereverluvinuncleber/gallery/

Post Reply